Yasith Weerasuriya Speaks About Gluten-Free Diet and Celiac Disease

Celiac Disease is a hereditary condition that occurs in any person or child. It can surface at any age and damages the lining of the small intestine. If left untreated, it will lead to long-term health complications and, in children, deters their development and growth. If one suffers from Celiac Disease, him/her needs to adhere to a gluten-free diet for life. One should be very careful when it comes to the ingestion of gluten with the Disease. Even small crumbs of gluten-rich food like bread can be dangerous to the small intestine.

Yasith Weerasuriya – Stay healthy with a gluten-free diet

Yasith Weerasuriya is presently one of the Board of Directors of the Celiac Disease Foundation and the President of Stanbridge University at Irvine and Los Angeles in California. He holds over 20 years of rich experience in the field of executive leadership and has attended Wichita State University and the Irvine Valley College. He was the founding President of the College Chapter of Phi Thera Kappa, President of the Honor Society, and the President of the Alpha Gamma Sigma Chapter.

What is gluten-free food?

He says that the healthiest as well as cost-effective way to follow the gluten-free diet is to look for natural, gluten-free food that includes the following-

  • Vegetables.
  • Fruits.
  • Dairy.
  • Poultry and meat.
  • Seafood and fish.
  • Legumes, nuts, and beans.

Pure barley and wheat grass are gluten-free; however, there is some amount of gluten in their seeds. If they have not been processed or harvested properly, there is a risk of you getting gluten contamination with them.

What about grains?

There are several natural, gluten-free grains that you can enjoy in a number of ways. Many of them are available in your grocery store locally; however, some of the lesser-known ones might be available in specialty or health stores for food only. Healthcare experts recommend you not to buy them from bulk bins as they may come into cross-contact with gluten.

Gluten-free beverages and how to spot them?

He says that most of them are free from gluten, like sports drinks, sodas, and juices when it comes to beverages. Wine is considered gluten-free as per the FDA standard, which is less than 20 parts per million of gluten. As per the University of Chicago Celiac Disease Center, fermented wines in barrels lined with the paste of wheat, like port wine, and Madeira do not contain gluten for triggering off a reaction.

Wrapping things up

However, there are some kinds of wine with additional color or flavor like dessert wines and those made from barley malt like the bottled wine coolers that have an unsafe volume of gluten for individuals with celiac disease. For such consumers, one must check the label of the wine bottle, says Yasith Weerasuriya, or contact the company. He adds that alcoholic beverages like hard ciders, liquor, and distilled liquors are also free from gluten as well as safe for those people with celiac disease.

Related posts

Leave a Comment